Oklahoma Proven Plants for 2020

Sunday, March 1, 2020

I have a friend who suggested I try some Oklahoma Proven plants. What is he talking about? BC
Oklahoma State University has a program called Oklahoma...

Master Gardener Plant Sale

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Each year I have mixed results with flowers in my garden. Do you have any recommendations for what might work well in our area? AM
Success in the...

Groundhog Day

Sunday, February 2, 2020

Ok, in this article, we typically answer your gardening questions. However, I won’t even pretend that this installment sprang from one of your questions....

Starting Your Vegetable Garden

Sunday, January 19, 2020

This year I am going to plant my first vegetable garden. Any suggestions? EC
Congratulations for deciding to take the plunge into growing your own...

Garden Resolutions

Sunday, January 5, 2020

First of all: Happy New Year. It’s a time of new beginnings; a chance to reflect upon the previous year and determine how we can do better this year.

Pruning Trees & Shrubs

Sunday, December 22, 2019

I need to do some trimming and pruning on our trees and shrubs. Is now a good time to do that? MA
Pruning and trimming is an important part of keeping...

Poinsettias

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Each year I purchase a new poinsettia and each year I end up throwing it away. Is there a way to keep it till next year? CH
Poinsettias are definitely...

Just Say No to the Mulch Volcano

Sunday, November 24, 2019

As I drive around town, I see small trees and crape myrtles with very large mounds of mulch, kind of like a pyramid. Is that the right way to do it?...

Southwest Tree Injury

Sunday, November 10, 2019

I planted a maple tree a few years ago and now the bark is split. What should I do?  EH
The damage you are describing is likely what we call Southwest...

Planting Bulbs and Pansies

Sunday, October 27, 2019

Winter is so dreary for us gardeners. Any suggestions for something to lift my spirits? CH
You are right to some degree. After all the anticipation...

Growing Garlic

Sunday, October 13, 2019

I’ve heard that fall is a good time to plant garlic. Is that correct?  MC
We love our garlic. Garlic is a common seasoning worldwide and it’s not...

Tree Planting

Sunday, September 29, 2019

I have heard that fall is a good time to plant new trees. If so, what do I need to do to be successful?   Jerry W., Jenks
Fall is clearly the best...

Milkweed Tussock Moth

Sunday, September 15, 2019

I grow milkweed in my garden for the migrating monarchs, but there are some fuzzy caterpillars that are black, orange, and white devouring my milkweed?...

Re-Seeding Fescue

Sunday, September 1, 2019

I understand that fall is the best time to reseed with fescue.  However, I am not sure how to do it and what type of seeds to buy. Can you help me?...

Becoming a Master Gardener

Sunday, August 4, 2019

From time to time, I hear about Tulsa County Master Gardeners.  Can you inform me about what they do and how to join that organization?     Rhonda B.,...

Fall Vegetable Gardens

Sunday, July 21, 2019

Our weather was so wet this spring, my vegetable garden never really took off. I was thinking of starting a fall garden. What vegetables can I grow in...

Bag Worms

Sunday, July 7, 2019

It seems like every year about this time I get bagworms on my evergreen trees.  Why does that occur and what can I do about it?   Rob W., Broken Arrow

Oak Galls

Sunday, June 23, 2019

I am noticing these round things about the size of a golf ball that appear to be falling from my oak tree: what are they? CS
What you are referring...

Types of Gardens

Sunday, May 26, 2019

I would like to plant more veggies and flowers this year, but I am out of space, any suggestions? JM
This is a challenge many gardeners face: we...

Pollinator Gardens

Sunday, April 28, 2019

I have had a flower garden for years, but what do I need to do to make it more pollinator friendly so I can see more butterflies? SB
The importance...

Crape Myrtle Bark Scale

Sunday, April 14, 2019

I have white spots that turn to a blackish mold on my Crapemyrtles.  What is it and how do I get rid of it?  Tricia, Tulsa.
We addressed this issue...

Educational Opportunities This Spring

Sunday, March 3, 2019

After a few years of gardening, I am not happy with the results I am getting. How do I “up my game” so to speak? JF
That is a good question and...

Pre-emergents and Crabgrass

Sunday, February 17, 2019

When is the best time to apply pre-emergent herbicide to help control crabgrass?  Johnathan W., Tulsa
Pre-emergent herbicides are definitely helpful...

Soil Tests

Sunday, February 3, 2019

I wasn't happy with how my yard looked last year or how my vegetables grew. How much and what kind of fertilizer should I use this year? DJ
This...

Spring Gardening

Sunday, January 20, 2019

What suggestions do you have for those of us starting to plan for our spring gardens this year? Also, what resources are available? Lisa P., Tulsa

Choosing a Christmas Tree

Sunday, December 9, 2018

I am a little late getting a Christmas tree this year, any suggestions on picking a tree tree and how to care for it? LB
I think a lot of us are...

Ice Melt Products

Sunday, November 25, 2018

It appears we may have a cold AND wet winter, so I am planning ahead by buying something that will melt ice on my sidewalks.  Will ice melt products...

Bumper Crop of Acorns

Sunday, November 11, 2018

What is up with all the acorns this year? When the wind blows it sounds like hail hitting the roof! NM
I was raking leaves off the patio recently,...

Fall Garden & Yard Prep

Sunday, October 28, 2018

I am trying to get my yard, flowerbeds and garden ready for winter.  What are some of the things that should be at the top of my list to do (and not...

Twig Girdler

Sunday, October 14, 2018

I have been finding the tips of branches underneath my trees that look like they have been chewed off. What is causing this? DK   
The culprit is...

Fall Tree Planting

Sunday, September 30, 2018

Is it true that fall is a good time to plant new trees?  If so, what do I need to do to be successful?   Alex R., Tulsa  
Fall is clearly the best...

Re-Seeding Fescue Lawns

Sunday, September 16, 2018

It seems like my fescue thinned out this summer. How do I reseed and when is the best time? DH  
Fescue is a good choice for areas of your landscape...

Bagworms

Sunday, September 2, 2018

I am seeing lots of bagworms on my cedar trees and other trees right now.  What can I do to get rid of them?   Charlotte S., Tulsa
Bagworms are...

Azalea Problems

Sunday, July 22, 2018

I have azalea bushes that are so beautiful in the spring, but then develop problems over the summer.  Should I just live with these issues or is there...

Squirrels and Tomatoes

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Squirrels and other animals are eating my tomato plants.  Help!  What can I do?     Melissa R., Tulsa
Keeping animals out of tomato plants can be...

Tomato Challenges

Sunday, June 24, 2018

This time of year, we get a lot of questions about one of our favorite garden crops: tomatoes. We love our tomatoes, but there are a variety of challenges...

Summer Lawn Care

Sunday, June 10, 2018

It seems to be getting hotter earlier each year, and this year is no exception.  What are the most important things I should be focused on to ensure...

Butterflies

Sunday, May 13, 2018

I am intrigued by the beautiful butterflies that are around Tulsa each year, but know very little about them.  Could you tell me how I can attract them...

Hummingbirds

Sunday, April 29, 2018

I am starting to see hummingbirds. How can I attract them to my garden and take better take care of them? DJ
Hummingbirds are the smallest of native...

Water Features in the Landscape

Monday, April 16, 2018

Water views are a prime real estate asset but, for those whose home doesn't front an ocean or lake, there is the option of a small pond or other water...